Spooky Food Recipes For Halloween

Anyone who was into Neopets knows all about Spooky Food. My little shop of horrors was full of spooky delights – Pumpkin Cookies, Spooky Doughnuts, Ichor Ghost Toast, Chilled Eyeball Custard. I’ve outgrown Neopets, but my fascination with spooky food remains, which is why come Halloween, I tend to go all out.

Over this past Halloweekend, the Boo and I selected some old classic horrors (The Gate, Pumpkinhead) and some offbeat titles (Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventures, Freddy vs Jason) and just settled in to relax with some spooky snacks.

Our movie choices may seem strange, but we watch A LOT of horrors. I even have a poster of Leatherface in my lounge. There are very few titles left in our Haven’t Seen and Haven’t-Seen-In-A-While lists. But it didn’t really matter what we watched. It was Halloweekend and that’s the only excuse I needed to do some proper kitchen witchery.

Here’s what I cooked up in my cauldron.

Pumpkin Pie
To keep with the American Halloween theme, I decided to try my hand at Pumpkin Pie using a recipe from the net that matched what I had in the cupboard. I used a bat-shaped cookie cutter to decorate it.

Pumpkin Pie

You’ll need:
2 eggs plus an extra egg yolk
Quarter cup caster sugar
Pinch of salt
2 teaspoons of cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
400g cooked pumpkin (or one bag of chopped pumpkin from Woolies) I boiled mine and drained it through a sieve.
200ml cream
Frozen puff pastry

  • Line a pie tin with the rolled-out pastry. Blind-bake for 20 minutes at 200 degrees C. I used some baking paper and rice to keep the middle from rising too much.
  • Beat the eggs. Add the sugar and spices and mix into the cooked pumpkin. Stir in cream.
  • Pour the pumpkin mix onto the pastry base and bake for 15 minutes at 200 degrees C. Turn down the heat to 160 and bake for 45 minutes.

I added my pastry bats after fifteen minutes.

Stuffed Carved Peppers
Since there was no way I was going to carve an actual pumpkin, I decided to make these instead.

You’ll need:
Red/Orange peppers
Black thai rice
Mince
Beef stock
Chopped onion

  • Hollow out and carve the peppers first, then bake in the oven at 200 degrees until they start to char along the edges.
  • To make the stuffing, I boiled black Thai rice in beef stock for 20 minutes. In a separate pan I fried onions, mince, leftover red pepper and chilli flakes.
  • Once everything was browned I added the rice and stirred through.

In hindsight I should have added some more stock to keep everything juicy. I decorated with rainbow sprout mix.

Mummy Jalapeño Poppers and Mummy Dogs
These are dead easy.

poppers

You’ll need:
Whole jalapeño peppers (I found mine at Woolies)
Cream cheese
Bacon, cut into long strips
Frozen pastry, rolled out and cut into strips
American hot dogs

  • Halve, de-seed and blanch the jalapeño peppers in boiling water.
  • Dry and fill with cream cheese.
  • Wind strips of bacon and puff pastry around the peppers like mummy wrappings.
    I used the leftover puff pastry to twirl around American hot dogs.
  • Bake both the peppers and hot dogs in the oven for 15 minutes at 180 degrees C.
  • I used tiny bits of pepperdew and black sesame seeds for eyes.

Haunted Cookies
This is actually embarrassingly easy and hella fun.

Haunted cookies

You’ll need:
Oreos
Black and white fondant icing (again, Woolies)
Sugar art (I found some at a baking supply store.)

All I did was roll out the fondant and let my imagination do the rest. I made mummies, devils and cute Halloween themed designs by pressing the sugar art straight into discs of fondant. You can shape the fondant into any shape you want. It doesn’t melt and it keeps its shape beautifully.

Cheese Graveyard
This is something I spotted on Instagram and decided to try for the fun of it.

Cheese

Simply shape some cheese into the crucifixes and coffins and set the scene with Branston Pickle, rainbow sprouts and ghostly cucumbers.

I made way too much food for two people, but at least I’ll be prepared next time I decide to throw a party. I hope these silly kitchen experiments inspire you to come up with your own creations this Spooktober.

Happy Halloween!

Great Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

